How it Works
About Us
Crime of the Week
Missing Persons
Unsolved Crimes
Wanted Suspects
MMSB Illegal Dumping
News & Events
Support Us
School Program
Internet luring
External Links
Contact Us
Follow-up on an existing tip.
Private Area



Police and Peace Officer of the Year Awards (POYA) honours enforcement officers in Newfoundland and Labrador that perform beyond the call of duty both on the job and in the community.

Nominations for the 2017 awards are now being accepted on or before March 20th, 2017

POYA is an annual awards program that is coordinated by Newfoundland and Labrador Crime Stoppers. Nominations are now being accepted in confidence from police or peace officers as well as members of the general public and community organizations for:

  • Police Officer of the Year – Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Police Officer of the Year – Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
  • Peace Officer of the Year - employed for the preservation and maintenance of the public peace or for the service or execution of civil processes.

About POYA:  For +20 years provincial police officers from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary have been recognized for their professional and contribution to the communities in which they were stationed. In 2014 and to better represent the enforcement entities that contribute and engage with all the province the POYA program expanded to also recognize peace officers employed throughout Newfoundland and Labrador for the preservation and maintenance of the public peace or for the service or execution of civil process.

Whom to Nominate: Eligibility for this year’s awards include (but not exclusively):

  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
  • Correctional Services Canada
  • Canadian Border Services Agency
  • Dept. Fisheries and Oceans
  • Military Police
  • Liquor Inspectors
  • Fish and Wildlife
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Municipal Police
  • Sheriffs

How to Nominate: In preparing individual nominations please note:

  • A complete nomination package MUST include a completed nomination form and a nomination summary and/or letters of reference;
    Nominators  may  nominate  more  than  one  officer  however you MUST complete a separate nomination for each person; 
  • A nomination summary of no more than three pages should accompany each nomination package and should specifically address:
    • His/her professionalism and dedication to public service and benefit to others;
    • His/her contribution to community, region and/or province;
    • His/her demonstrated  leadership and  describe  outstanding accomplishments on the job;
    • His/her performance of special acts or services in the public interest; and,
    • Any other information you may wish to supply to best describe why you are nominating this person.
  • Past nominations can be resubmitted for consideration.

The deadline for nominations is on or before end of day 20 March 2017

Please email, fax or mail all complete nominations to:

Email: POYA.NL.2017@gmail.com

Fax: 709 722 8957

Police and Peace Officer of the Year Awards
Newfoundland and Labrador Crime Stoppers
P.O. Box 9700, Stn. A,
St. John’s, NL A1A 3T5

Who Can Nominate: 2017 POYA nominations will be accepted from the general public, provincial organizations as well as any provincial police or peace officer.

The Awards Ceremony:  The POYA awards will be presented on Friday, 19th May 2017 at an awards ceremony at the Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre, Conception Bay South, NL.

For more information on the POYA program, please call 709 729 8246

The 2017 Police and Peace Officer

of the Year Awards is proudly supported

by The VOCM Cares Foundation.

POYA Winners to Date:

Police Officer of the Year Award –

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Police Officer of the Year Award –

Royal Newfoundland Constabulary


Peace Officer of the Year Award

Cst Peter McKay

Sgt Randy Mercer

Sgt Dave Carey

Cst Boyd Merrill

S/Cst Jack Humphries

Cst John Pardy

Cst Jagdeep Soin

Sgt Kevin Baillie

Sgt Paddy McNeil

Cst Amy Mitchell

Cpl Rendell Osmond

Cst Peter King

Cst Kent Pike

Cst Mark McDonald

Sgt Duane Walsh

Sgt Jacques Morneau

Cst Darryl MacMullin

Cpl Rick Mills

Cst Justin James Lyall

Sgt Donald Rogers
S/Sgt Greg Hicks

Sgt Michael Adams

Cst Paul Davis

Cst Roger Devereaux

Cst Kenneth Jackson

Cst Ralph Mitchell

Cst Georgina Short

Cst Dean Roberts

Cst Stephanie Motty

Cst Stephen Knight

Cst Brad Butler

Cst Ken Dean

Cst Wayne Mercer

Cst Preston Duffy

Cst Robert Edwards

Sgt Patrick Roche

Sgt Jason Sheppard

Cst Robert Hull

Cst Krista Miller

Cst Scott Mosher
Sgt Paul Didham


Cst Oswald Fudge, Town of Gander Municipal Enforcement


Fishery Officer Sherry Pittman, DFO


Cst. Danielle Greavette, City of Mount Pearl Municipal Enforcement

Fishery Officer Nikki Wright,  Fisheries and Oceans

All Site Content / Copyright © 2017 / Crime Stoppers of Newfoundland & Labrador
Dynamic WebSite Design / Copyright © 2017 / Anderson Software